Natural Remedies from My Garden

A talk by Hero3a member, Annie Onursan on Friday 10 October, 2014

Why I am interested in herbal remedies

Ten years ago I went to a herbalist in England to resolve some hormonal problems and he prescribed  30 drops to be taken morning and night. After a month or two I felt much better and every month I paid £10 for a tiny bottle.

Three years later I wondered what I was taking, looked it up and found a picture of Vitex Agnus Castus – Hayıt Ağacı. When I returned to Turkey I realised that my garden is full of these bushes. Continue reading Natural Remedies from My Garden

Events for November 2014

  • 2 November Sunday stroll. Küdür- Yalıkavak. Contact Ayşe İdil   0530 409 6342
  • 3 November Monday 14:00 – 16:00 Writing Circle 2. ENGLISH. Maya Hotel, Bodrum. Contact Martha  0553 243 7905
  • 4 November Tuesday 11:00 HeroArt at Gürece.
  • 5 November Wednesday 11:00 – 13:00 Turkish Conversation at Gürece. Contact
  • 5 November Wednesday 14:00-16:00 English Reading Group 1. ENGLISH. Gürece. Contact
  • 5 November Wednesday 15:00 Teach Yourself Greek at Ursula’s, Derekoy. Contact
  • 6 November Thursday 11:00 – 13:00 English Conversation at Maya Hotel, Bodrum. Contact Melanie Freeborn melfreeborn@gmail.com
  • 6 November Thursday 14:00 HeroTavla at Kıyı restaurant, Bitez. All members are welcome. Contact lindabitez@gmail.com
  • 7 November Friday 11:00 HeroArt Beginners at Gürece. If you are interested in joining, contact Gülçin Kadiköy at gkadikoy@gmail.com
  • 7 November Friday 14:00 – 16:00 Presentation by Professor Özer Ozankaya on Atatürk as Founder of Turkish Democracy. TURKISH. BOTIM, Oasis. To be repeated in English at a later date. Contact reyhandestan@gmail.com
  • 9 November Sunday hike. Contact Selçuk Şahin selchukshahin@gmail.com
  • 10 November Monday 10:00 H3A board meeting. Venue to be confirmed. Those members wishing to observe please contact selchukshahin@gmail.com
  • 10 November Monday 14:00 – 16:00 Writing Circle 1 at Gambilya. ENGLISH. Contact Martha mkspatrick@gmail.com 0553 243 7905
  • 11 November Tuesday 11:00 HeroArt at Gürece
  • 12 November Wednesday 11:00 – 13:00 Turkish Conversation at Gürece. Contact vkohen@superonline.com
  • 12 November Wednesday 14:00 – 16:00    Presentation by Professor Poul Pedersen on Mausolos’s Time in Halikarnassus. ENGLISH. Karia Princess, Bodrum. Contact reyhandestan@gmail.com
  • 13 November Thursday 11:00 – 13:00 English Conversation at Maya Hotel, Bodrum. Contact Melanie Freeborn melfreeborn@gmail.com
  • 13 November Thursday 14:00–16:00 HeroSingalong meets at Maya Hotel, Bodrum. Contact Martha mkspatrick@gmail.com
  • 14 November Friday 11:00 HeroArt Beginners at Gürece. If you are interested in joining, contact Gülçin Kadiköy at gkadikoy@gmail.com
  • 14 November Friday 13:30 – 15:30 Knitting Group meets at Cheryl’s.   If you are interested in joining, contact cherylsabey@hotmail.com
  • 16 November Sunday stroll. Adaboğazı – Bitez. Contact Ayse Idil akjelstr@yahoo.no 0530 409 6342
  • 17 November Monday 14:00 – 16:00 Writing Circle 2. ENGLISH. Maya Hotel, Bodrum. Contact Martha mkspatrick@gmail.com 0553 243 7905
  • 18 November Tuesday 11:00 HeroArt at Gürece
  • 19 November Wednesday 11:00 – 13:00 Turkish Conversation at Gürece. Contact vkohen@superonline.com
  • 19 November Wednesday 13:30 English Reading Group 2. ENGLISH. 4/14 Evler, Mars Mabedi Cad. Contact annieonursan@me.com
  • 19 November Wednesday 15:30 Photography Workshop. BOTIM, Oasis. Contact Jak Kohen jkohen.g@gmail.com
  • 20 November Thursday 11:00 – 13:00 English Conversation at Maya Hotel, Bodrum. Contact Melanie Freeborn melfreeborn@gmail.com
  • 20 November Thursday 14:00 HeroTavla at Kıyı restaurant, Bitez. All members are welcome. Contact lindabitez@gmail.com
  • 21 November Friday 11:00 HeroArt Beginners at Gürece. If you are interested in joining, contact Gülçin Kadiköy at gkadikoy@gmail.com
  • 22 November Saturday 10:00 Breakfast at the Bodrum Golf Club, Ortakent. Cost 25tl per head. Contact lindabitez@gmail.com if you want to come
  • 23 November Sunday hike. Contact Selçuk Şahin selchukshahin@gmail.com
  • 24 November Monday 14:00 – 16:00 Writing Circle 1 at Gambilya ENGLISH. Contact Martha mkspatrick@gmail.com 0553 243 7905
  • 25 November Tuesday 11:00 HeroArt at Gürece.
  • 26 November Wednesday 11:00 – 13:00 Turkish Conversation at Gürece. Contact vkohen@superonline.com
  • 26 November Wednesday 14:00 Turkish Reading Group at Gambilya. TURKISH. Contact ludmila@ttmail.com
  • 27 November Thursday 11:00 – 13:00 English Conversation at Maya Hotel, Bodrum. Contact Melanie Freeborn melfreeborn@gmail.com
  • 27 November Thursday 14:00 – 16:00 HeroSingalong meets at Maya Hotel, Bodrum. Contact Martha mkspatrick@gmail.com
  • 28 November Friday 11:00 HeroArt Beginners at Gürece. If you are interested in joining, contact Gülçin Kadiköy at gkadikoy@gmail.com
  • 28 November Friday 13:30 – 15:30 Knitting Group meets at Cheryl’s.   If you are interested in joining, contact cherylsabey@hotmail.com
  • 30 November Sunday stroll. Telmessos- Gürece. Contact Ayse Idil akjelstr@yahoo.no 0530 409 6342

PLEASE CONTACT THE EVENT ORGANISER IF YOU NEED A LIFT

Events for October 2014

  • 14 – 15 October Tour to Pamukkale and Aphrodisias. Contact Ann Soğuksu ysoguksu@hotmail.com  0532 735 0526
  • 14 October Tuesday 11:00 HeroArt at Gürece
  • 15 October Wednesday 14:00 English Reading Group 2 ENGLISH 4/14 Evler, Mars Mabedi Cad. Contact annieonursan@me.com
  • 16 October Thursday 11:00 – 13:00 English Conversation Skills. Maya Hotel, Bodrum. Contact Melanie Freeborn melfreeborn@gmail.com
  • 16 October Thursday 14:00–16:00 HeroSingalong meets at Maya Hotel, Bodrum. Contact Martha mkspatrick@gmail.com
  • 17 October Friday 11:00 HeroArt Beginners at Gürece. If you are interested in joining, contact Gülçin Kadiköy at gkadikoy@gmail.com
  • 19 October Sunday stroll. Gümüşlük. Contact Ayse Idil akjelstr@yahoo.no 0530 409 6342
  • 20 October Monday 14:00 – 16:00 Writing Circle 2. ENGLISH. Maya Hotel, Bodrum. Contact Martha mkspatrick@gmail.com  0553 243 7905
  • 21 October Tuesday 11:00 HeroArt at Gürece
  • 22 October Wednesday 11:00 Turkish Conversation Skills at Gürece. Contact Vivian Kohen vkohen@superonline.com
  • 22 October Wednesday 14:00 Turkish Reading Group at Gambilya TURKISH. Contact ludmila@ttmail.com
  • 23 October Thursday 11:00 – 13:00 English Conversation Skills. Maya Hotel, Bodrum. Contact Melanie Freeborn melfreeborn@gmail.com
  • 23 October Thursday HeroTavla at Kıyı restaurant, Bitez. All members are welcome. Contact lindabitez@gmail.com
  • 24 October Friday 11:00 – 13:00 Knitting Group meets at Cheryl’s.   If you are interested in joining, contact cherylsabey@hotmail.com
  • 24 October Friday 11:00 HeroArt Beginners at Gürece. If you are interested in joining, contact Gülçin Kadiköy at gkadikoy@gmail.com
  • 24 October Friday 14:00 – 16:30 Presentation by Prof Dr Nuran Şahin on Soothsaying Rituals and update on Claros Excavations. TURKISH and ENGLISH. Karia Princess Hotel, Bodrum. Contact reyhandestan@gmail.com
  • 26 October Sunday hike. Geriş – Partipanaz Rock. Contact sechukshahin@gmail.com
  • 27 October Monday 14:00 – 16:00 Writing Circle 1 at Gambilya ENGLISH. Contact Martha mkspatrick@gmail.com  0553 243 7905
  • 28 October Tuesday 11:00 HeroArt at Gürece
  • 29 October Wednesday 11:00 Turkish Conversation Skills at Gürece. Contact Vivian Kohen vkohen@superonline.com
  • 30 October Thursday 11:00 – 13:00 English Conversation Skills. Maya Hotel, Bodrum. Contact Melanie Freeborn melfreeborn@gmail.com
  • 30 October Thursday 14:00–16:00 HeroSingalong meets at Maya Hotel, Bodrum. Contact Martha mkspatrick@gmail.com
  • 31 October Friday 11:00 HeroArt Beginners at Gürece. If you are interested in joining, contact Gülçin Kadiköy at gkadikoy@gmail.com

PLEASE CONTACT THE EVENT ORGANISER IF YOU NEED A LIFT